Home ~ Yoga ~ Yoga for Pregnancy ~ Postnatal Yoga for Mums and Babies ~ Baby Massage Instruction
Yoga Therapy ~ Aromatherapy Massage ~ Reiki ~ Timetable ~ Yoga Weekends ~ Baby News and Links


jeanatley homepage



“There is a light that shines beyond all things on earth, beyond us all, beyond the highest, the very highest heavens. This is the light that shines in our heart”

Chandogya Upanishad



 Yoga is a holistic system bringing harmony of body, mind, emotions and spirit. Yoga can also complement medical science and therapy for specific conditions.

Life in the modern world is very hectic and stressful and many people are turning to yoga to find ways to cope with the challenges of daily life. Everyone can practice yoga, regardless of age, sex or ability. Yoga is thought to have originated in India over 5,000 years ago and classical yoga postures can be seen in ancient Indian statues and carvings.

My classes comprise physical postures which strengthen and tone the joints, muscles and ligaments, clear toxins, increase energy levels, and enhance the functioning of our internal organs and systems; breathing exercises which improve respiration, increase energy, release tension, and anxiety; meditation to encourage mental clarity; and relaxation to reduce stress and anxiety, and encourage a feeling of well-being and peace of mind. Click here for timetable of classes. For details of yoga weekends click The Friars.

There are four main paths of yoga:

Karma Yoga  -   the yoga of action through selfless service
Bhakti Yoga  -  the yoga of devotion
Jnana Yoga  -  the yoga of knowledge or wisdom
Raja Yoga  -  the royal path (this includes hatha yoga)

The Eight Limbs of Raja Yoga:

1. Yama:   The five abstinences (Outer observances. Self control, getting on with other people)

Ahimsa - non violence, compassion for all creatures
Satya - honest communications, sincerity, integrity
Asteya - non stealing, generous
Brahmacarya - connection to our divinity
Aparigraha - non possessiveness

2. Niyama:  The five observances (Inner observances. Attitudes, coming to terms with yourself)

Saucha - purity of thought, word and deed
Santosha - contentment
Tapasya - austerity, strength of character
Swadhyaya - study, turning the awareness inwards
Ishwarapranidhana - devotional surrender to God
(in a general and non-denominational sense) - we can live as an expression of all these attitudes when we let go of the ego and trust in the Self that is at the centre of wholeness of being

3. Asanas:  Postures and movements

4. Pranayama:  the practice of breath awareness and breathing techniques

5. Pratyahara:  Drawing the senses inwards to still the mind

6. Dharana:  Concentration - steadying the mind

7. Dhyana:  Contemplation or meditation

8. Samadhi:  Enlightenment - union with the divine


For further information or to make a booking, please
Phone: 01322 292892 or 07831 220328   Email:

©Copyright  2020